Event Ad Project

5AMeganRandall-page-001 screenshot-page-001

Process: My message was to advertise an event, to reach all high school students at Malibu High School in California, and get them to come to this event to support Down Syndrome! I picked fun and bright colors and an appealing image to try and portray the vibe that will be at this party. I found this image with an analogous color scheme and kept the analogous color scheme within the circles and text. I picked pretty simple fonts so because I didn’t want my design with the circles and the image to be too much with complex fonts. I really enjoyed the typography that I chose. Once I had the image and the design I wanted to use, I put the picture into Word and added the shapes and the body text and changed the colors to follow my color scheme. I was super happy with how it turned out.

Critique Process: I got critique from  Jaclyn Stephens, Shawdee Snow, and Christina Carrick from the facebook page on Tuesday and they suggested that I either eliminate the lines connecting my circles or make them look more finished. They suggested that I condense the information and pick one color of green and blue. Sister Peterson also gave me a video critique on Wednesday suggesting that I make the sun the main circle for the title, change the font and the size of the body text. Also, she suggested that I put the title words closer together. I took their advice and changed the lines to be bolder and changed the body text to 12 pt. I got rid of the circle around the Title and just left the sun. I picked one blue and one green and changed the transparency to create variety. I changed the body text font so that it wasn’t all capitalized.

Color Scheme: Analogous: Green, Teal, Blue, Royal Blue

Fonts:  Title- HGHeiseiKakugothictaiW9 (San Serif)   Body Copy-Lucida Bright (Serif)

Link to image: http://cdn.wonderfulengineering.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/beach-wallpaper-9.jpg

5 thoughts on “Event Ad Project

Leave a comment