Tasteful Typography Project

Tasteful Typography Project

rsz_tasteful_typography_final-page-001

Here is my project in Word, where I designed it.

typ Screenshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Process: The process I used was I was able to google an image and I knew right away I wanted it to be a road. So I googled road images and found a large one that I would use. I particularly picked this one because I loved the clouds and the colors. I came up with the quote and wanted the overall message of my piece to be me that you don’t have to be the same as everyone else. There is beauty in becoming your own person. The audience that I directed this towards is anyone that is looking for motivating messages and, in particular, maybe teenagers and young adults that need help remembering that it is okay to take your own path in life. I then opened the image in Word and inserted the picture and made sure it covered the whole document by text wrapping it in front of the text. I inserted the title and the quote and added the two circles to create repetition and put a line to make it more visually appearing. I changed the color, fonts, and size of the words to create contrast. After I had the design, I exported the image as a PDF, and then went and saved it as a JPG through an online website. I’m super happy with how it turned out!

Critique Report: I was able to be critiqued by April Bethea, Shawdee Snow, and Shay Sookhoo through my facebook post on the Winter 16 Comm 125 Facebook page! I also recieved a critique from one of my roommates. They gave me a critique on Tuesday, January 25 which allowed me to make the correct changes I needed to for my project. The critique that I received was to make sure my words were center in the middle, add more color to the words, possibly put the words on the bottom by the road, change the textbox size so there are not two words just hanging there, and change the middle alignment. All of these critiques were super helpful and gave me great ideas! What I ended up changing was I re-measured to make my words were right in the middle. I changed from having just black words to dark green to bring in more color. I tried using white but it just didn’t stand out enough in the clouds. I tried bringing it all down but it didn’t give it the feel that I was going for so I left that. I used a left alignment and made the text box bigger so the layout of the sentences looked better. I was very happy with my feedback and how it helped me to make my project better.

Link to Image: https://jayanthjohn.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/highway_road.jpg

Font Name/Category: Title: HGHeiseiKakugothictaiW9, San Serif. Body Copy: Palatino Linotype, Oldstyle.

6 thoughts on “Tasteful Typography Project

  1. Megan, I really like your Road less traveled. For someone who is going down many of these lonely roads both figuratively and literally made me still want to go down them and travel down them. I like the thought you put behind where you’re going to put your words and the colors you used. I also like that you left enough room between the and of the road and your words to continue to pull you into your design. You really did a nice job, and you should be very proud of your work.

    Like

  2. Hi Megan, This is a beautiful design! I love your picture choice and how the colored words complement it. The sky is gorgeous. It makes me think of a long road trip and how much I would love to hit the road and start off on an adventure! I think my favorite part of this design is how the road leads you right to the text. It is very visually appealing and draws you right in. Great job!

    Have you seen Ryan’s design? I love how it turned out too! https://ryanthomas86.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a comment